Review: Banila Co. Miss Flower & Mr. Honey Cream

First let’s start with the basic info  ↓

Product type: Cream
Purpose: Moisturizing
Ideal skin type: Dry and/or dehydrated.
Step: Last step of your night time skin care routine.
Price on Ebay: 28,01 USD

More details  ↓

Colour: Pale yellow
Scent: Honey ❤
Consistancy: Quite thick and greasy
Appearance on the skin: After 5 minutes of absorbation it looks rather oily on the skin.
Feeling on the skin: It definetely feels like it’s doing it’s job of moisturizing!
Container: Quite big, bulky and heavy, made of plastic and not so travel friendly. BUT it looks soo cool. Very unique and beautiful.
Packaging: Comes with a spatula.

IMG_0598

My thoughts around the product before buying it, and how I came to actually buying it  ↓

I had heard about the Miss Flower & Mr. Honey Cream looong before I bought it myself. People were raving about it left, right and center, but I thought it was a bit pricey for me, and maybe not necisary? After all I was quite happy with the moisturizer I was currently using, which was the Etude House Moistfull Collagen Water Jelly Cream. The only problem I had with that cream was that it is a gel type cream, and for me personally it didn’t provide enough moisture for my combo skin. I still use it, but only as a day time moisturizer.

Anyway, a while back I found out that I desperatly needed a heavier cream for night time use, something that I knew wasn’t going to be easy. You see, every even slightly heavy cream that I had tried previously, would break me out after a few days of use, and end up in the bin.

So the hunt after the perfect, yet heavy, moisturizer began. I came across quite a few, both “holy grails”, cult favourites and some unknown ones, but none of them were calling my name. I kept coming back to the Miss Flower and Mr. Honey Cream, and so it ended up in my Ebay shopping cart. However after looking it up in CosDna and discovering half a handful of acne irritants, I started having second thoughts. Would it be worth the money? Would it break me out? All I can say is; it ended up in my shopping cart once again, and a couple of weeks later it was in my letter box!
IMG_0607

So I’ve been using the Banila Co. Miss Flower & Mr. Honey Cream for maybe a month now and I have a few things to say about it. Before I get into it I would like to say that I haven’t been using this cream for about a week now. I decided to take a little “break” when I started noticing a small amount of breakouts after using it for a few weeks, just to find out if the cream was causing it or something else. I’m thinking that it’s less likely that the cream is the culprit in this case, because I usually break out long before 2 or 3 weeks og using a product IF I’m going to break out at all.

My guess is that perhaps stress or some other factor is behind the breakout, but since I can’t know this for sure, I’m on this little “break” now. My plan is to start using the cream again in maybe a week’s time, and then report back to you when I know what’s going on. However, I did use it for probably 3 or 4 weeks so I do have a few things to say about it, so far 🙂


From what I understand this cream is ideal for dry and/or dehydrated skin types, but in my experience it works well on combination skin aswell. So I’m guessing people with normal skin could also use this cream. It’s definetely on the heavier side, but that’s okay during the night. If you live in a dry climate or in a cold one like me and my partner here, this is a great alternative because of it’s moisturizing abilities. When I wake up in the morning after using this, my skin feels soft and supple. It feels a lot less dry than before.

The Miss Flower & Mr. Honey Cream is classified as a night time moisturizer and it should be the last step in your night time skin care routine. Some people might use it during the day, but to me it’s exclusivly a night time cream, because it feels and looks quite oily on the skin, and I doubt that it would be suitable for wearing under make up. BUT if you’re going to stay at home one day and/or not going to wear make up, I really don’t see the problem with using it during the day aswell.

Because of the thickness of this cream, a sleeping mask would probably be unnecisary. Alternativly you could layer it a bit thicker than you normally would, for a sleeping mask effect.

As far as the scent goes I love, LOVE, LOOOOVE it! It smells of honey, and it’s just delicious!

The container IS big and heavy, but as long as you don’t take it with you travelling you probably won’t notice that it’s slightly impractial. You’d be busy admiring the design or sniffing the cream.

When it comes to the spatula, I’m sure many find it useful, but I myself never use the spatulas that come with moisturizers. I just find them annoying and they end up lying around bathroom when they should really be in the bin! I know they’re meant to be hygenic, but guess what? I NEVER let anyone including myself touch my creams without having newly washed hands. So we’re all good!

IMG_0609

If you want to take a closer look at the ingredients and what they do, CosDna is great. I always, ALWAYS do this before I purchase a product. I find that it helps me “paint a picture” of how well a product will get along with my sensitive, acne prone skin, and if it is likely to cause any problems 🙂

IMG_0617

My ratings after about 3 weeks of use  ↓

Performance: 7/10
Scent: 10/10
Appearance on the skin: 10/10
Feeling on the skin: 10/10
Packaging: 10/10
Container: 8/10
Price: 7/10

Overall: Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2 Honeybee on Apple iOS 10.2

What’s my conclusion?
So far I’m really liking this moisturizer. If I can rule it out as the culprit behind my breakouts, when I give it another go in about a week, I will definetely purchase it again! It’s a great moisturizer inside a beautiful container. And the best part? The fact that it smells of honey, and it smells very natural. What’s not to love?

IMG_0623

Like I said before, I’m currently on a short break from this cream, in order to find out if it played a part in breaking me out, or not. I’ll be back with an updated review in a few weeks time. I really hope that the breakouts were caused by other factors, because I do like this cream, and I want it in my routine!

Vicky 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

