First impression: Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence

This will be my first impression on the Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence.

20170410_183020
Basic info  ↓

Product type: Essence
Purpose: Hydration, healing

More details  ↓

Colour: Clear
Scent: A very mild scent of propolis. Barely there.
Consistancy: Semi-thick but at the same time a bit runny. Slightly oily
Appearance on the skin: After 5 minutes of absorbation it has a shiny finish.
Feeling on the skin: Feels okay on the skin, slightly sticky but doesn’t really feel hydrating.
Container: Made of glass, perfect size but quite heavy. The container really is stunning, though. I love it!
Dispenser: Dropper.
Packaging: The design of the packaging is very similar to that of the container. Simply beautiful.


Ingredients according to
CosDna:
Propolis Extract (50%), Royal Jelly Extract (20%), Honey (10%), Glycerol, Dipropylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Arginine, Beta-Glucan, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol

As you can tell the ingredients list is rather short, something I personally think is a good sign on it’s own. It’s good to know that a product contains a large part of nice and natural ingredients, as opposed to filled with unnecessary and possible irritating junk. If you take a closer look, you’ll see that a total of 80% of the ingredients are in fact natural “good stuff”, like Propolis Extract, Royal Jelly Extract and Honey. I always check CosDna before buying any product 🙂

20170410_183254

The first thing I noticed about this product (after the packaging and the container) was the scent. There really isn’t a scent going on here, and I’m actually rather disappointed. I don’t know about you, but when I see a gorgeous, luxurious looking container with the word “honey” on it and a BEE, I expect that shit to smell of premium honey! And it didn’t.

My honest first thoughts on this essence after trying it only once, is that I don’t love it. I just…don’t. The beautiful container and packaging aside, there really isn’t that much to the essence itself. I’ve been buying and trying quite a lot of korean skin care products throughout the past 12 months, and I just feel that this product compared to many others i’ve tried, is nothing special. I for one am not a fan of the shiny finish, the slightly oily feeling and the fact that it just doesn’t feel hydrating. Oh, and the lack of a delicious scent.

To sum it all up; I’m totally in love with the container, but I’m afraid it stops there. I’m not excited about the essence itself.. I suppose I could use it as a healing layer IF it turns out to actually soothe and heal, something only time will tell.

As mentioned above this is only my first impression of the product, and I’ll be back with a full review after testing it properly for a few weeks. Who knows? I might end up really liking this.

If you’ve tried the Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence, what did you think of it?

Vicky 🙂

Lagre

Leave a Reply

