Rant Of The Week; Tom(h)ato 🍅

Hello darlings, dudelings and everyone in between!

This rant is in no shape or form sponsored. These are my words and honest opinions.

So, I’ve finally tested a product that I’ve come to resent. A lot. We’re talking pure fire out of my ears, nose and bellybutton because I loathe this thing so much.
Well, I don’t hate the product itself, but the fact that no matter how hard I try, it just doesn’t want to be besties with my face. Goddamnit!
At first it was love at first sight, this beauty of a massage mask found it’s way into my heart, and I was sure that this would be a good match, Mr.Tomato and I.

Firstly a little review just to get the idea of it all, then I’ll explain why this little red fruit had to go and live in the bin.

Name: Tomatox Magic Massage Pack from TonyMoly
Product: Face mask, Massage Type
Good for: Brightening, Detox, Removing Sebum, Lighten Dark Spots.
Manufactures description: “Massage your way to brighter, clearer skin. This massage pack stars the underrated but totally powerful Tomato. It naturally brightens skin, diminishing the appearance of blemishes and dark spots. It also detoxifies and cleans out dirt trapped inside pores, the culprit of breakouts. Other botanical and fruit extracts also work together to leave you with youthful, healthy, and glowy skin.”

Directions: “After cleansing, apply on towel-dried face and gently massage for about 1 to 2 min. After massaging, leave it on your face for 5 to 10 min. Rinse out with lukewarm water and pat with towel. Use 2 to 3 times per week or use everyday as needed.”

Texture & Smell:
This mask has a white creamy almost lotion-like consistency without being a grease mess from down under, it smells fresh and nice, spreads evenly and look the part of a nice face mask that won’t break you out or make your face burn. But don’t trust it, because this is one evil piece of cuteness!

Container:
This mask comes in an amazeballs container, typical TonyMoly with it’s sweetness and quirkiness, for that single reason I want to love the mask, but let’s be real guys, you can’t love something just for its looks.
It also comes with a spatula, so you can easy scoop up the amount you need without contaminating the entire content of the jar. Nice!

So what do I feel about it?

For some this might work, I love the promises it gives, the package and the scent! But when it comes to the whole putting on the mask and massaging, that’s where the magic stops.
I have never felt such a itchy/burning sensation before just for applying white goo in my face! All was rainbows and unicorns when I got it on, I started massaging it in, and had no clue what awfulness awaited me!
So, halfway in the massaging I noticed a burning sensation, and not the good one, I just thought it was normal and proceeded doing my thang, but when the burning didn’t fade and rationality kicked in, I decided it was best to safe my whitehead-filled face by washing this bastard of. After some wishywash & taptap drying,  I did a smexy hairflip and took a look in the mirror. HOLYFUCKBALLS, my gorgeous cherub-shaped face!
The Tomato mask just got real. Like, colored in 50 shades of red real. Okay, maybe not 50, more like 3, but still, Mr.Tomato, you were meant to be my bestie. *sadface*

I retraced my steps in the routine prior to the redness galore incident, and tried to blame the toner that I’d been using for merely a week. A week passed and I thought it was time to give the Tomatox another go.. Silly girl. Same result, but now the sorrow was replaced by anger. You dumb fruit you! We were supposed to brighten my skin, not make it match your color!

And by now you’re probably thinking; “Oh, but you’ve learned by now right? It’s time to let it go, Mocka.”
HAH. Never! They say that thirds the charm, so I gave it another week, and this time I was determined that we would get along, which we did! 2 minutes longer than the last time. I got to the whole “leaving it on my face” part before redness disaster made an appearance, and it was of quicker than you can say “Mocka, you silly nilly!” This time it only left a bright flushed color, so I would say improvement!

Today, yes.. Today! I tried it one last time just to be 100% sure that this was the root of all evil. Bad news? It still is. Good news? I just got myself a brand new tomato shaped container! Because you know.. gotta see the good in the awful red bastard.

So conclusion?
This product will probably be amazing if your skin can handle it. I have seen good reviews of it, so for some this has to work! Unfortunately me and my cuteness overload loving face is not one of them.
With that being said my rating will reflect my experience of this product, but I’ve decided to give it scores on several points, to make it more fair. Even if this product made me see red.

Packaging: 9/10
Scent: 8/10
Texture: 7/10
Performance: -10/10 (Hopefully just me)
Overall: 4,5/10

Goddamnit Tomato, why do you have to be so cute?
IMGP8820
-Mocka

Leave a Reply

