Review: Skinfood’s Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion

Hey guys!

The time has come for another review, and this time I’m sharing my thoughts on the Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion from Skinfood. If you read my first impression on the product you’ll know that I promised to be back with a full review after putting it to the test for a few weeks, and here I am!

“This is one of the few products I’ve purchased that isn’t listed on CosDna. But I read some great reviews on it and many people with sensitive/troubled skin, seem to find it very helpfull with it’s soothing and clearing properties.” – Myself (lol) on why I purchased this product!

20170428_164811

The basics   ↓

Product type: Emulsion
Purpose: Clear, soften, refresh and moisturize
Price (Ebay): 12.16 USD

More details   ↓
Colour: White
Scent: Tea tree
Consistency: Quite thin but not runny. Spreads out nicely.
Appearance on the skin: After absorbation you’re left with a satin finish.
Feeling on the skin: Feels cool and refreshing on the skin.
Container: Made of plastic, nice and clean design. Looks a bit medicinal, maybe?
Dispenser: Pump, very hygenic!
Packaging: The product came without a package, but was sealed with plastic
(Copy-pasted from my first first impression on the same product).

20170428_164906

So what do I think of the Skinfood Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion?
This is my first emulsion and I must say that I’m pleasantly suprised. It comes in a convenient container with a hygienic dispenser. And who doesn’t like that? Also, I love the consistency of the product. It looks quite a bit thicker than it really is when you first dispense it onto your finger, but then you get to see how lightweight and runny it actually is! It glides on like a dream and instantly provides your skin with a cool, refreshing and soothing feeling.

When it comes to the Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion’s main job which is skin clearing, I’ll have to wait a while longer to see if it actually works. The reason being that such effects usually are more long term rather than instant. However, I know for sure that this emulsion doesn’t break me out, which I’m always grateful for as it doesn’t take a lot for my skin to act up, at all. In other words; I quite like this product but I’m not sure if I’ll repurchase it. Only time will tell!

20170428_164747

So what are the cons?
The cons aren’t many, but I can think of one thing that doesn’t sit too well with me, and that is the scent. In my first impression on this emulsion I stated that I found the scent pleasant and natural, but now that I’ve come to know the product a bit better I have to say that I’ve sort of changed my mind. It does smell of tea tree, but there’s also an interfering scent of petrol? I’m honestly not sure if I would call it “petrol” or something else, but “petrol” was – and still is the first thing that pops into my mind whenever I apply the emulsion. This is kind of unsettling for me, and that comes from a person who normally LOVES the smell of petrol (weird, I know). But petrol is just one of the last things you want your skin care products to smell like, right? Especially when the tea tree scent fades after a while and the unidentified smell that we’re STILL calling “petrol” lingers for quite some time!

20170428_164929


Rating   ↓

Colour: 10/10
Scent: 4/10
Consistency: 10/10
Appearance on the skin: 8/10
Feeling on the skin: 8/10
Soothing: 8/10
Container: 7/10
Price: 9/10

Overall   ↓
🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳    8/10

And remember; I always recommend taking a closer look at any new product before purchasing it, just in case you’re allergic or sensitve to one or more of the ingredients. Personally I always check before buying a new product, because I know my skin is of the extra vulnerable type as I do have dehydrated combination skin with acne prone areas. You can find the ingredients, what they are and what they do at CosDna. In this case the product isn’t listed there, but usually when you look up a product, you’ll find it   🙂

So that’s it for my review on the Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion from Skinfood! Have you tried it? If so, did you like it?

Vicky ❤

2 thoughts on “Review: Skinfood’s Tea Tree Clearing Emulsion

Leave a Reply

