Review: Etude House Pure Water Baobab Moist Cream

Hey guys!

It’s time for me to give you my thoughts on the Pure Water Baobab Moist Cream from Etude House! This is a product that I bought on a whim, after just reading a tiny bit about it on the internet. If you’ve followed this blog for a while you may know that I’m searching for the perfect cream. And when I say “cream” I mean a cream type cream, not a gel type cream.
Now, the Pure Water Baobab Moist Cream is indeed a gel type cream. Although I’ve already got enough gel creams, I decided to give this one a go, as I heard rumours about it being good for distressed and sensitive skin, which I have. In other words, I’m still on the lookout for the perfect cream! GAH! Anyways, I told you guys in my first impression on the product that I would return with a review, and here we are. Enjoy!


20170505_221209

The basics   ↓
Product type: Gel cream
Purpose: Purify, hydrate and moisturize.
Step in skin care routine: Last step, unless you apply sunscreen or a sleeping mask.
Price (Ebay): 15.31 USD


More details   ↓

Colour: Semi clear white.
Scent: Smells like MANY other creams out there, which don’t have a particular scent, if you know what I mean? For example the Moisture Surge Cream from Clinique.
Consistency: Gel cream. Lightweight and a bit runny. Spreads out VERY easily.
Appearance on the skin: After application you’re left with a shiny finish.
Feeling on the skin: Feels allright on the skin, a bit sticky.
Container: Baby pink themed plastic tub. Cute but looks a bit cheap.
Packaging: Same as the container.
(Copy-pasted from my first first impression on the same product).

20170507_184620

So what do I think of the Etude House Pure Water Baobab Moist Cream?
After having put this cream to the test for a little while, my conclusion is that it’s nothing special. At least not in my opinion. It’s lightweight and feels nice on the skin. I love the consistency of it and the cool feeling it provides, but it’s just not moisturizing enough for me. I haven’t tried it as a night cream, cause I already know it’s too thin for even a day cream. But I have however used it as a day cream to wear under make up. And it is good for that exact purpose. Also it hasn’t caused any breakouts.

So, if this gel ream was less jelly and more cream, and therefore probably more moisturizing, it would suit me a bit more. And if it had a delicious scent aswell, it would suit me a lot more. But it isn’t and it hasn’t. So yeah… People with less dehydrated skin would probably quite like this, but for me it’s nothing special. Having said that, this cream has a relativly short and nice list on CosDna, which is a bonus as I have sensitive acne prone skin. And what’s more? It contains 17% water from the Baobab Tree. I love natural ingredients.

thumb_aduna_baobab_tree

What an awesome looking tree! (The Baobab) Photo borrowed from Google.


What are the cons again?
I can’t really come up with that many cons when it comes to the Pure Water Baobab Moist Cream. But as I’ve already mentioned; I just don’t find it moisturizing enough for my skin. And it lacks an amazing scent. I’m not sure if most people would count “scentless” or “neutral scent” as a con, but I for sure do! I know that many people find scents overbaring or at least a bit disturbing and I totally understand that. But for me, I love myself a nice scent when it comes to my skin care products. Not overbaring, just nice. But please note that this is coming from a BIG scent appreciater. So if you don’t like scented products and you’re after a lightweight moisturizer, this might indeed be the cream for you   🙂

20170505_221301

Rating   ↓

Colour: 6/10
Scent: 5/10
Consistency: 10/10
Appearance on the skin: 7/10
Feeling on the skin: 7/10
Soothing: 7/10
Container: 6/10
Price: 9/10

Overall   ↓
🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳   7/10

And remember; I always recommend taking a closer look at any new product before purchasing it, just in case you’re allergic or sensitve to one or more of the ingredients. Personally I always check before buying a new product, because I know my skin is of the extra vulnerable type as I do have dehydrated combination skin with acne prone areas. You can find the ingredients, what they are and what they do at CosDna. In this case the product isn’t listed there, but usually when you look up a product, you’ll find it   🙂

That’s it for my review on the Pure Water Baobab from Etude House! Please let me know what your experience with this product is, if you’ve tried it!   🙂

Vicky ❤

Leave a Reply

