First impression: Beauty of Joseon Dynasty Cream

Hey guys!

It’s time for me to share my first thoughts on the Beauty of Joseon Dynasty Cream! This is a product that I bought on a complete whim after my dear Mocka brought it to my attention. (She’s a lot better than me when it comes to finding the more obscure skin care products out there). Usually I do quite a fair bit of research before purchasing a product, but now and again that just doesn’t happen and a product manages to sneak it’s way into my basket. And this mofo did just that. *Cough* ANYWAY.

Let’s get to it   ↓

20170528_191820

The basics   ↓

Product type: Cream
Purpose: Hydrating, whitening, nourishing, smoothing, anti-wrinkle care and moisturizing.
Step in skin care routine: Last step, unless you apply a sunscreen (day) or sleeping mask (night).
Price (Ebay): 17.17 USD

More details   ↓

Colour: White
Scent: Flowery scent.
Consistency: Quite thin for a cream. Spreads out nicely.
Appearance on the skin: After application you’re left with a satin finish.
Feeling on the skin: Feels nice, silky and refreshing on the skin. Oh, and very luxurious!
Container: Medium size, quite heavy and probably too fragile for travelling as it appears to be made of frozen glass instead of the more typical solid plastic. Comes decorated with some kind of cloth, cute.
Packaging: White box with black decor.

20170528_191950

Having only tried the Dynasty Cream from Beauty of Joseon once, my first impression consists of mixed feelings and thoughts. I have many a time purchased a holy grail product, put it to the test and just not understood the hype. Equally as many times have I tried more obscure products and ended up really liking them. Funny how that happens. This is something both me and Mocka have experienced. My point is that I had really high hopes and expectations when it came to this product, and although it’s not bad, I don’t feel like my expectations were met, cause it’s not amazing either. And I’ll tell you why.

First of all, the container was damaged when I took it out of the box and quite a lot of product had leaked out. Now, I could just pin it on bad luck (which it most definetely was aswell) and say “This could’ve happened with any other product” (which probably is very possible) but the fact is that it didn’t happen to any other product, at least not in my personal experience. It happened to this one.

I’ve ordered loads and loads of skin care products from Korea for over a year now, and yeah, sure, I’ve recieved two or three tubs of moisturizer with broken seals, but none of them leaked and were missing product. And all those tubs had one thing in common: they were made out of solid plastic, as opposed to glass or frozen glass (like this mofo).
I know, this can’t possibly happen to all of the Beauty of Joseon Dynasty Cream tubs. Obviously had I lived in Korea and therefore been able to purchase this product without it having to get on a plane (or three), this probably wouldn’t have happened. But it did, and I’m not happy about it. It doesn’t matter if it’s the manufacturer’s fault or the seller’s fault for not packing it properly. I’m still going to stick to plastic tubs from now on, because of the risky plane journey each of my products must take. This isn’t meant as a rant, just something you might want to consider before buying fragile products   🙂

20170528_191841

Moving on to the product itself, I’m not crazy about the scent. I mean, it’s not bad, it’s just not amazeballs. And if you’ve followed this blog for a while, you may know that a product’s scent is very important to me and there really isn’t a lot inbetween “Disgusting”, “Neutral” and “Amazefest” on Vicky’s Scent Scale. However, when it comes to the consistency it’s actually really nice. It feels very luxurious on the skin and spreads out like a silky dream! Unfortunatly I don’t think the Dynasty Cream from Beauty of Joseon brought it’s A Game when it comes to it’s most imporant task (in my opinion) which is moisturizing. Of course, one can never be too sure from just one application, but I’m going to be honest; I have my doubts.

Also, it’s probably worth mentioning that I failed to find the correct listing on CosDna for this product prior to purchasing it (God knows how I messed that up), but I found it now! And let’s just say… it’s not looking good. I’m crossing my fingers, hoping and praying that my face won’t look like a rat who barely survived eating rat poison, in a couple of weeks time. Not that it’s the worst CosDna listing I’ve ever seen (cause it’s definetely not) but my skin is sen-si-tive, and usually it’ll freak out if you so much as breathe on it. So yeah.


20170528_192016

And remember; I always recommend taking a closer look at any new product before purchasing it, just in case you’re allergic or sensitve to one or more of the ingredients. Personally I always check before buying a new product, because I know my skin is of the extra vulnerable type as I do have dehydrated combination skin with acne prone areas. You can find the ingredients, what they are and what they do at CosDna
.

20170528_191928

As with any other product I put to the test, I’ll be back with a full review on the Beauty of Joseon Dynasty in a couple of weeks, maybe even before. Sometimes it takes a good couple of weeks to fully experience the effects of a skin care product, but sometimes you know even after just one week, if your skin is hating or loving it. So stay tuned if you want to join me in finding out if this obscure moisturizer is in fact a hidden gem, a common rock or just pure dog sh*t!

So that’s it for my first impression on this cream! I Hope you found it helpful. And please let me know if you’ve tried it and if you like it!

Vicky ❤


Leave a Reply

